Monday, 21 July 2014

Denmark joins unitary patent

Denmark has deposited its instrument of ratification with the Council of the European Union. 
That makes it the fifth state to fully ratify the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court. Previously, Austria, Belgium, France, and Sweden had also ratified the agreement.

The unitary patent system will become operation when 13 states including the United Kingdom, France, and Germany have ratified the agreement. At this point we can tell that a unitary patent (if it happens) will be valid at least in: Austria, Belgium, France, Sweden, Denmark, United Kingdom, and Germany.

Ratification of Denmark was uncertain for a while, as the country had to organize a referendum to clear to the way for ratification.

For some reason the ratification of Denmark has not appeared on the EU ratification page.

1 comment:

  1. Denmark now appears on the EU ratification page.